Boy Azooga named winners of the Welsh Music Prize

  • 08 Nov, 2018


    Manics and Gruffy Rhys had also been on the shortlist

    Boy Azooga have been named the winners of the Welsh Music Prize, for their debut album ‘1-2, Kung Fu’.

    The Cardiff four-piece beat the likes of Manic Street Preachers, Gruff Rhys and Gwenno, who were also among the 12-strong shortlist.

    Gruff Rhys and Gwenno had previously won the Welsh Music Prize, with the other artists on the shortlist being Alex Dingley, Astroid Boys, Bryde, Eugene Capper And Rhodri Brooks, Catrin Finch And Seckou Kaita, Mellt, Seazoo and Toby Hay.

    The Welsh Music Prize began in 2011, when Super Furry Animals singer Gruff Rhys won for ‘Hotel Shampoo’.

    Boy Azooga tour from November and you can buy tickets for the tour here.

    Boy Azooga Tour Dates:
    November 29: O’Neills, Cardiff
    December 1: District, Liverpool
    December 21: Yes, Manchester

Copyright © 2018 Mp3coop